Skip To Main Content

School History

Ellison Elementary School

While St. Joseph was busy with desegregation, an area east of the city was organizing into the Platte Valley School District. In 1954, ten small districts consolidated into one. They purchased a 13-acre tract and opened the school with 175 pupils on November 14, 1954. The school was annexed by the St. Joseph School District in 1967 and renamed in honor of the former superintendent of the Platte Valley R-1 School District. Located five miles east of the Belt Highway on State Highway 6, the elementary school is somewhat unique with its lighted athletic field and rural setting.